HomePoliticsNPP, NDC share 273 seats, 1 independent, 1 outstanding

NPP, NDC share 273 seats, 1 independent, 1 outstanding

- Advertisement -

Mrs Jean Mensa- Chair, EC

The Electoral Commission (EC) has clarified that the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has obtained 137 seats in the next Parliament, while the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has clinched 136 seats in the 275-seat legislature.

One seat stands in the name of an independent candidate, while the Sene West seat remains outstanding.

A statement by the EC said “the Sene West Parliamentary election is yet to be finalised and the outcome declared.

Finalise issues

“The commission assures the general public that it is working to finalise the issues regarding the Sene West Constituency to enable the transparent, fair, credible and peaceful conclusion of the process,” it added.

“We expect to bring finality to this issue within the shortest possible time,” the statement further said.

The statement by the EC appears to effectively resolve the contention about the number of seats obtained by the two major parties in the eighth Parliament of the Fourth Republic.


The NPP and the NDC had been trading words over which party possessed more seats in the next Parliament.

The EC also urged parties to submit to the laid down processes as they challenge some of the results in the December 7 polls.

“The EC is aware of contests to some parliamentary seats by both the NPP and the NDC in a number of constituencies. We entreat the political parties to use the laid down processes established by law to seek redress to their concerns,” the statement added.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisment -

Most Popular