HomePoliticsBimbago South residents boycott 2020 election

Bimbago South residents boycott 2020 election

- Advertisement -

Residents of Bimbago south Electoral Area in the Bunkpurugu Constituency in the North East region have boycotted the ongoing voting exercise in protest of lack of social amenities in the area.

The residents declined to vote when officials of the Electoral Commission arrived at the community Monday morning to set up their equipment.

Graphic Online has gathered that all attempts by the Member of Parliament for the area, Solomon Boar to convince the aggrieved residents to rescind their decision proved futile.

The North East Regional Director of the EC, Gabriel Manu who confirmed this to Graphic Online said the electoral officers have set up their equipment at the polling stations but the residents have declined to vote.

“I understand they have declined to vote because they have not provided them with some developmental projects”, he said.

He indicated that the EC officers were still at the polling stations as government officials continue to negotiate with the residents to rescind their decision, adding that it was not under the mandate of the EC to interfere in that matter.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisment -

Most Popular